Total Newbie with multiple questions:

CyborgAlienWRYG738

Question

• First I'm not sure which is the better antenna ¼,⅝, or ½ wave and which of them should I use on my home for a base for a GMRS/MURS/NOAA reception/transmitting antenna and why?
  • Which antenna is the best low price option for what I'm trying to do?
  • Can I use a splitter to hook up my Wouxun KG-UV9GX as well to the same antenna? Which one?
  • I'm looking at making a base out of the Wouxun KG-1000G+ mobile, that I can also use in the vehicle for a bug out mobile, would I need to ground the antenna if I'm using a mag mount from either Midland or Tram, (Which is better?), and either the Midland or Nagoya NMO antennas?
  • Which combo would be better, Midland all the way, Midland-Tram, Nagoya-Midland, Nagoya-Tram, or  just use the Wouxun AMO/NMO setup?
  • Can I power all of this with a IOTA DLS-15 Series M? If not, which should I go with and why?

My ultimate goal is to eventually build this out to be a solar backed up repeater eventually as I can afford it, so keeping that in mind, I can also use some suggestions for that as well as can I use a duplexer with 2 radios and get full 50W output?

• With a Duplexer would I require 2 radios or must I just use 1?
  • What if I went with 2 radios what's the difference in doing it that way? (Both with and without the duplexer?)
  • What's the best way to get the best range and the most power output, (as close to 50W as I can legally get), for the least amount of funds?

I'm in the USA, if that matters. I know my area is lacking in the repeater area for GMRS and I'm wanting help to increase the footprint here.

25 answers to this question