Antenna height and length of coax hypothetical question.

WRZI712

Question

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the GMRS world and I'm in the process of setting up a base station on the second floor of my house. I have two choices for antenna placement that would also affect the length of coax that I run. So here are the two options I have...which option would you choose and why. 

1) Antenna mounted 20' above the ground on the rear of the house with approximately 20' of lmr 400 coax to my radio. The top of the antenna will be approx 10' below the peak of the roof and partially obstructed by the house. 

2) Antenna mounted 30' above the ground on the peak of the roof with approx 35' of lmr 400 coax to my radio. The top of the antenna will be roughly 5' above the peak of the roof with no obstructions for 360

3) In this case just choose the easiest mounting method because the difference would be negligible. 

Thanks for all the input

Pete

WRZI712

19 answers to this question

10 minutes ago, WRZI712 said:

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the GMRS world and I'm in the process of setting up a base station on the second floor of my house. I have two choices for antenna placement that would also affect the length of coax that I run. So here are the two options I have...which option would you choose and why. 

1) Antenna mounted 20' above the ground on the rear of the house with approximately 20' of lmr 400 coax to my radio. The top of the antenna will be approx 10' below the peak of the roof and partially obstructed by the house. 

2) Antenna mounted 30' above the ground on the peak of the roof with approx 35' of lmr 400 coax to my radio. The top of the antenna will be roughly 5' above the peak of the roof with no obstructions for 360

3) In this case just choose the easiest mounting method because the difference would be negligible. 

Thanks for all the input

Pete

WRZI712