Baofeng uv-9g can't make work to repeater

WSAN783

Question

I am new to GMRS and I have been watching videos on how to program my Baofeng uv 9g.  I seems to be easy, but not for me.  I have my license and went on this site to get a repeater close to me and got approved.  They told me to transmit on 467.650 which I put in channel 32 on my radio. I set the dcs codes both transmit and receive, and st the offset to -005.000 which the told me was the receive 462.575.  I can't seem to hit the repeater at all.  Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?  Thanks

25 answers to this question

Just now, WSAN783 said:

Is there another way I should be doing this. Sorry if I sound dumb, but this is new to me I have seen many of your videos which I enjoy and I have been trying to off of them. I see that this radio can only be programmed with and offset not like the others I saw in your videos that you can program the transmit and recieve separte. 

You have two choices:
1) Use a different repeater that uses the standard GMRS +5 offset
C) Become a felon and buy a ham or LMR radio, which is what 100% of the people using that repeater are using. 

1 hour ago, WSAN783 said:

I am new to GMRS and I have been watching videos on how to program my Baofeng uv 9g.  I seems to be easy, but not for me.  I have my license and went on this site to get a repeater close to me and got approved.  They told me to transmit on 467.650 which I put in channel 32 on my radio. I set the dcs codes both transmit and receive, and st the offset to -005.000 which the told me was the receive 462.575.  I can't seem to hit the repeater at all.  Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?  Thanks

You need to set the 462.xxx and have a plus +5 off set   Seams like you’ve got it backwards.  ?

26 minutes ago, WSAG780 said:

I am in the Warner Robins, GA area and I am having a hard time finding a repeater. Can some please help?