Does tilting a vertical base antenna help?

First off, I'm still learning about radios and such.

Basically all the repeaters in my area are south of me. I can hit one kinda reliably at over 30 miles, but I noticed the other day that I was hearing another that about 45 miles away that I can't normally hear...I assume the weather conditions were good that day.

Anyway, if I tilt my Tram 1477 antenna slightly south, rather than straight vertical, will that help my reach?

I'm adding an extension onto my mast next week, so I could force a tilt then if it makes a difference. If it won't make a difference, than I won't bother trying to tilt it.

Well, my disposable budget has been eaten up by other unexpected obligations this month, and with the hobby getting rather expensive, I told my wife that I'd wait to upgrade anything else until later next year...other than the cheap extension I'm adding to the mast. So, a different antenna is out of the question at the point, which is why I'm trying to make the best of what I have available.

I'll add the extension and see what I think after that I guess.

Your radiation pattern from an omni antenna would look like a beach ball with a weight pushing down at the top making the top and bottom flat. Tilting the antenna lifts one side of the ball but pushes the other side down reducing signal strength to the horizon. The side pointing up will send more signal toward clouds  and possibly also reducing signal strength at te horizon. The best result is keep the antenna vertical and increase height.

36 minutes ago, BoxCar said: