Retevis RA25- 20W GMRS mobile

Shadow471

Retevis is well known for manufacturing and selling some of the most inexpensive radios around. I have no experience them. I have seen some of there products talked about periodically on some YouTube channels.

If considering a product of theirs, perhaps consider an equivalent product from Midland, at least if you purchase it from them there is some chance you will be able to obtain product support should it ever be needed.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Two comments:

1. There is a V/M button which means there is a VFO. Programming from the keypad makes it ineligible for Part 95e centification.
  2. I'm constantly amused when the Chinese call these mobile units "walkie-talkies" in their eBay listings and/or digital ads.

Two comments:

1. There is a V/M button which means there is a VFO. Programming from the keypad makes it ineligible for Part 95e centification.
  2. I'm constantly amused when the Chinese call these mobile units "walkie-talkies" in their eBay listings and/or digital ads.

to be fair, the Btech GMRS 50x1 (also supposedly 95e certified) has a V/M button as well, and it will happily let you scan through and receive a big chunk of the VHF and UHF bands. 

However, it doesn't let you transmit on anything other than the hard coded 1-7 and 15-22 (simplex on 1-7, simplex or duplex on 15-22)...the Retevis may be similarly locked down

the frustrating part about implementing the lockdown this way is that even if the extra stuff you've programmed is in bounds for GMRS, nope, rx only.

Two comments:

• There is a V/M button which means there is a VFO. Programming from the keypad makes it ineligible for Part 95e centification.
  • I'm constantly amused when the Chinese call these mobile units "walkie-talkies" in their eBay listings and/or digital ads.