How to program KG-UV9G PRO GMRS Two-Way Radio & SHTF Scanner (KG-UV9G-LITE)

jacobkong

Question

Hi there,

This is my first time owning any GMRS radio and I have decided to go with a KG-UV9g Pro (Lite) but the only problem I have is how do I program it. I have googled, YouTube and looked all over the internet and nothing came up. I am new to this radio stuff. I am planning a hiking/camping trips with some friends and would like to know how to program it so I can use it to contact park rangers for emergencies etc. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

19 minutes ago, MozartMan said:

jacobkong,

How were you able to buy LITE version? When I go to BSR website I can only see PRO version.

Regarding programming - did you get cable and programming software?

On the product page for the "Pro" model, there is a drop-down selection that allows you to choose the "lite" version. It's just below the downloads box (at least that's where it is on my browser). It's the bottom box in the attached image. Select the drop-down, and you should find it there.

Screenshot at 2021-05-30 06-32-50.png

1 hour ago, WyoJoe said:

On the product page for the "Pro" model, there is a drop-down selection that allows you to choose the "lite" version. It's just below the downloads box (at least that's where it is on my browser). It's the bottom box in the attached image. Select the drop-down, and you should find it there.

Thank you WyoJoe.

Just ordered LITE version. It was in stock.

How were you able to buy LITE version? When I go to BSR website I can only see PRO version.

No, I don't have the cable and the cable is on backorder. I need to learn how to do it manually and etc.  I read the manual and it doesn't tell me how to do it.

20 minutes ago, jacobkong said:

No, I don't have the cable and the cable is on backorder. I need to learn how to do it manually and etc.  I read the manual and it doesn't tell me how to do it.