Best stationary antenna?

I'm new to GRMS, and have a UV5G+ handheld that am looking to get more range from when at home. What would be the best option for antenna, coax, etc, mounted to my roof or  siding, to go long ranges (10-15 miles)? I live in a suburb of Chicago where there are a lot of houses and trees, but it is relatively flat with an elevation of 700' . 
Thanks!

Best, to me would be range, and voice quality. I'm am an electrician by trade, so not real concerned about ease of installation, but nothing tech heavy. Don't want to have to go to school to learn how to program it, just want to talk to my son on the other side of town LOL. Any suggestions for other things I should be considering?

Like Randy says, how do you define "Best". A handheld unit is not the best for attaching to an antenna for base station use. It will work, but not well. I would recommend you look for a 20 to 25W mobile radio with a 15A power supply. The mobile will require 7 to 8 amps of power draw while transmitting, and a 15W power supply will supply at least 11A continuously. For your coaxial cable between the radio and your antenna, use LMR400 or equivalent from one of the amateur radio dealers like The Wireman, Gigaparts, Ham Radio Outlet, or DXEngineering and not the cheapie stuff from Amazon. The antenna you use is the most important piece of the kit, and for that there are several recommendations on this site.

You asked about antennas and coax, so my thoughts: