MXT575 MicroMobile installed at house. How do I increase range?

Guest Moab123

Guest Moab123

Greetings, I'm new to GRMS. I purchased a few walkie Talkies and then a Midland MXT575 MicroMobile base station that I want to use at my house. The range is no better than the walkie talkie's. About 2 miles. Does anyone have any advice? Should I install an external antenna on my roof? If so, can you recommend the best model for increasing my range. I'm in Central Florida. No major hills or mountains. No dense urban issues. Just typical residential and trees. 

56 minutes ago, Guest Moab123 said:

Greetings, I'm new to GRMS. I purchased a few walkie Talkies and then a Midland MXT575 MicroMobile base station that I want to use at my house. The range is no better than the walkie talkie's. About 2 miles. Does anyone have any advice? Should I install an external antenna on my roof? If so, can you recommend the best model for increasing my range. I'm in Central Florida. No major hills or mountains. No dense urban issues. Just typical residential and trees. 

Try an external antenna before jumping ship on the Midland.
There are many antenna threads on the forum. Search for “base antenna.”
Don’t expect 200 miles. I don’t know the terrain around @WRXP381, but I don’t get 200 miles. I think he has something unusual going on. 

I have to agree with @Sshannon. Definitely try an external antenna first. Even a mobile mag mount antenna on a cookie sheet outside is better than an antenna inside the house. If you can afford it and have a place to mount it, I will recommend the Comet CA-712EFC antenna.

And getting a 200 mile range is definitely not the norm with GMRS. Most guys in the wide open desert are getting 75 - 100 miles tops. Terrain, foliage, buildings and other obstacles will affect and limit your range. 

GMRS is line of sight. So the higher your antenna is and that of the person you are trying to talk to is, the better.