Reception Question

WRZP701

Question

Greetings all.  I'm still pretty new to this so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  I seem to be having issues with reception.  At-least, I think I am.  I've got a UAYESOK Fiberglass GMRS Base Antenna (https://www.amazon.com/UAYESOK-Fiberglass-Antenna-Repeater-Motorola/dp/B0CF9DV3ZM), about 30' up off the ground (a good 10' above the house ridge line).  It's going into a Wouxun KG-1000G-Plus from a 50' RG213 coax, into an arrester (that's ground out to an 8' grounding rod buried at point of entry to the house), followed by a 10' RG213 coax entering the house, down into the radio.  SWR shows around 1.0 at full 50watts.  (Maybe fluxuate a littlle every once in a while but never over 1.5:1).

Nearest I can tell, this is about as optimal as I can make it.

I can hear NOAA, local Air Traffic Control, local HAM (2m/70cm repeaters) all with this antenna (and it's only a UHF tuned for GMRS).  I have been trying to make contact with folks on a repeater (WMTG600) that's a fair distance away (about 30 miles give or take).  I know my transmits are getting through as I can almost make out folks coming back if I turn off the squelch and just monitor closely.  But I'd have expected to be able to hear much better than this.  

Any thoughts or suggestions on improving reception?  Or, is it just "quite" out there with this repeater and those trying to respond back are really just that far away?

Appreciate the feedback.

23 answers to this question

The wrong type of coax or bad coax will cause even the best antenna to not perform well. RG-213 is good for HF frequencies but not so good for VHF or UHF frequencies.

I suggest getting some good LRM400 or equivalent coax first. And if that doesn't help, look into a better antenna. The Comet CA-712EFC is an excellent antenna and is not much more than that no name antenna from Amazon.

Hello and welcome!